Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, FAAN, is currently professor of neurology and otolaryngology at the University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio (UTHSCSA). She also serves as chief medical officer of UT Medicine and as assistant dean of ambulatory services for the School of Medicine. 

Jackson is a graduate of Texas A&M University, where she received a bachelor's of science degree in Chemical Engineering. She obtained her medical degree at UTHSCSA, where she subsequently completed her neurology residency training and clinical neurophysiology fellowship. She has obtained board subspecialty certification in both clinical neurophysiology and neuromuscular medicine. She is a graduate of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program sponsored by Drexel University College of Medicine. 

Jackson serves as medical director for the South Texas ALSA Center of Excellence and the MDA ALS Research Center. She is a member of the Western ALS Study Group, Northeast ALS Research Group, and the Muscle Study Group. She has participated in over 60 multi-center clinical trials in the areas of ALS, muscular dystrophy, and myasthenia gravis and has published over 200 abstracts, journal articles, and book chapters. 

Jackson has served the AAN as a member of the Science Committee, Meeting Management Committee, Leadership Development Committee, and the Board of Directors. She has been a member of the Continuum® editorial board since 2007. She co-chaired the ALS Measurement Development Panel and co-authored the ALS Practice Parameters. She has actively participated on the Education Subcommittee and more recently on the Neuromuscular Topic Work Group. Jackson participated in the Palatucci Advocacy Leadership Forum in 2013 and has been a delegate to Neurology on the Hill. She has served as a mentor in the Emerging Leaders Forum for the past three years and the Diversity Leaders Program since its inception.