Log In

Forgot Password?


Not a member? Continue as a nonmember.

Become a Member

By becoming a member of the AAN, you can receive exclusive information to help you at every stage of your career. Benefits include:

Join Now See All Benefits

Loading... please wait

2023 Annual Meeting | H279 - Perspective Change: LGBTQI Inclusive Care in Neurology (Leadership University)

Wednesday 04/26/23
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM EST Add To Calendar
This program will be presented in-person only
This program will be available in the meeting's On Demand product.
Hubs (Leadership University)
Wissam Georges Deeb, MD
As neurologists, we want to serve our patients and provide a safe and comfortable environment to promote healing and care. Participants should gain an understanding of essential concepts in caring for LGBTQI individuals. In small groups for a series of perspective-changing and empathy-building activities, participants should identify and implement strategies to create an inclusive environment in their clinics/hospitals and improve care. Participants should enhance their clinical skills in a safe and supportive environment. As the adage goes, what is said here, stays here, and what is learned here, leaves here.
1.00 CME credit
Interpersonal and Communication Skills, Professionalism, Practice-based Learning and Improvement
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Fellow, Resident, General Neurologist, Specialist Neurologist, Non-neurologist, Advanced Practice Provider, Neurohospitalist, Medical Student

Program Materials Program Evaluations

Event Timeline
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM EST Speaker Perspective Changer – LGBTQI Inclusive Care in Neurology
Wissam Georges Deeb, MD, Gwen W. Zeigler, DO
Faculty Disclosures
Wissam Georges Deeb, MD Dr. Deeb has nothing to disclose.
Gwen W. Zeigler, DO Dr. Zeigler has received personal compensation in the range of $0-$499 for serving as a Speaker with American College of Osteopathic Neurologists and Psychiatrists Mid-Year Meeting. Dr. Zeigler has received personal compensation in the range of $0-$499 for serving as a Speaker with American Academy of Neurology.