Merit-based Incentive Payment System

The Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) is made up of four categories: Quality (replaces PQRS), Improvement Activities, Advancing Care Information (ACI; replaces Meaningful Use), and Cost (Replaces the Value-Based Modifier). 

Your performance in 2018 in these four categories will generate a score that will determine payment adjustments in 2020.

Key Dates

  • January 1, 2018: First day of 2018 performance period. Be prepared to start participating at the start of the year; cost and quality will be measured for a full calendar year. 
  • January 2, 2018: CMS opens reporting web portal at Remember, even though 2017 is over, you still have until March 31, 2018, to submit data to CMS. 
Are you required to participate?
Who is eligible? Who is excluded?
Eligible clinicians include physicians, NPs, PAs, clinical nurse specialists, and certified registered nurse anesthetists. Clinicians who are qualified participants in Advanced APMs, are new to Medicare Part B, or meet the low-volume threshold are not required to participate. 

Low-Volume Threshold

In 2018, clinicians who see 200 or fewer Medicare Part B patients or have less than $90,000 Medicare Part B charges per year will be exempt from MIPS participation.

This is up from 2017 when the low-volume threshold was set at 100 or fewer Medicare Part B patients or fewer than $30,000 Medicare Part B charges per year. 

This means some clinicians who were required to participate in 2017 will be exempt in 2018.

CMS will inform clincians whether they are excluded from MIPS via letter. Visit to verify your status.

MIPS Wizard

Still looking for a way to report 2017 performance? MIPS Wizard is a registry that allows you to manually enter your MIPS data, then they do all the work of submitting to CMS.

The AAN has partnered with MIPS Wizard to get AAN Members a $100 discount on the reporting tool.