UCLA Neurologist Receives AAN Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Award

CHICAGO – The American Academy of Neurology (AAN) is awarding the 2008 Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Award to Bruce Ovbiagele MD, with the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) for his research in stroke care. Ovbiagele will receive the award during the AAN’s 60th Annual Meeting in Chicago, held April 12–19, 2008. Ovbiagele is a member of the American Academy of Neurology. The Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership prize is awarded to emerging neurologists who have a strong interest in and have demonstrated a passion for learning and expanding the field of stroke research. Ovbiagele is being recognized for his work creating a hospital-based quality improvement stroke care program, called PROTECT (Preventing Recurrence Of Thrombo-embolic Events through Coordinated Treatment). The program is a set of guidelines geared toward integrating proven therapies into standard stroke care. Ovbiagele says the PROTECT program helps to improve health care provider adherence with stroke prevention guidelines, as well as raise the compliance of hospitals with stroke care quality performance indicators. “Implementation of the program has been associated with significantly higher hospital discharge treatment rates, better longer term adherence to evidence-based stroke therapies, and greater compliance with target goals for blood pressure and cholesterol,” said Ovbiagele. The program was originally successfully implemented at UCLA and has been adopted by several hospitals around the world with similar results. However, Ovbiagele says improvements can still be made. “Avenues exist to further improve the effectiveness of the program and to design rigorous studies to directly link the impact of systematic hospital-based stroke care with actual clinical outcomes.” The Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Award is sponsored by the AAN and endowed by Dr. Michael Pessin's family, friends, and colleagues. The 60th Annual Meeting, one of the world’s largest gatherings of neurology professionals, takes place in the McCormick Place West Convention Center in Chicago.

The American Academy of Neurology, an association of more than 21,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals, is dedicated to improving patient care through education and research. A neurologist is a doctor with specialized training in diagnosing, treating and managing disorders of the brain and nervous system such as Alzheimer’s disease, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, Parkinson’s disease, and stroke. For more information about the American Academy of Neurology, visit


Press Release Search

For More Information

Email Renee Tessman


Email Michelle Uher