Free Audio Conference Call for ALS Patients on Best Treatments to Live Longer, Easier

ST. PAUL, Minn. – The American Academy of Neurology and The ALS Association are offering a free audio-conference call on February 11, 2010, for patients and caregivers regarding the Academy’s new guidelines on the most effective treatments for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), often called Lou Gehrig’s disease. The call will help emphasize that a lot can be done to make life easier and longer for people with ALS. Important areas of care needing more research will also be highlighted. What: Free audio conference call for ALS patients and caregivers on most-effective ALS treatments. When: 5 pm, ET, Thursday, February 11, 2010. Presenters: Robert G. Miller, MD, neurologist and lead author of the Academy’s ALS guidelines. Presenters also include coauthors Carlayne E. Jackson, MD, Edward J. Kasarskis, MD, PhD, and Dallas A. Forshew, RN. A brief question-and-answer period will be available to patients and caregivers at the end of the call as time permits. ALS is a rapidly progressive and fatal neurologic disorder that attacks the nerve cells that control voluntary muscles. The mission of The ALS Association is to lead the fight to cure and treat ALS through global, cutting-edge research, and to empower people with Lou Gehrig’s disease and their families to live fuller lives by providing them with compassionate care and support. For more information, visit the ALSA website.

The American Academy of Neurology, an association of more than 22,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals, is dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care. A neurologist is a doctor with specialized training in diagnosing, treating and managing disorders of the brain and nervous system such as, ALS, Parkinson’s disease, stroke, Alzheimer’s disease, dementia, West Nile virus and ataxia. For more information about the American Academy of Neurology and its guidelines for treating ALS, visit


Press Release Search

For More Information

Email Renee Tessman


Email Michelle Uher