AAN Announces 2010 Award Winners in Neurologic Research

TORONTOThe American Academy of Neurology (AAN) will recognize the outstanding achievements of researchers in neurology during the AAN’s 62nd Annual Meeting in Toronto, April 10 through 17, 2010, the world’s largest gathering of neurologists with more than 2,000 presentations on the latest advances in neurologic research. From enterprising high school students to world-renowned researchers, the AAN Awards program will bestow 17 awards for some of the top accomplishments in the field. The awards will be presented at the American Academy of Neurology and American Academy of Neurology Foundation Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, April 14, 2010, at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre. This year’s recipients include: AAN Alliance Awards: • Founders Award Farrah Mateen, MD / Baltimore, MD • S. Weir Mitchell Award Peter Todd, MD, PhD / Ann Arbor, MI Bruce S. Schoenberg International Award in Neuroepidemiology Judith Kwasa, MD / Kisumu, Kenya Child Neurology Neuroscience Research Prize Pragya Kakani / Jericho, NY Dreifuss-Penry Epilepsy Award Martin Gallagher, MD, PhD / Nashville, TN John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research David Hafler, MD, MSc / New Haven, CT Sheila Essey Award: An Award for ALS Research Clive Svendsen, PhD / Los Angeles, CA Norman Geschwind Prize in Behavioral Neurology Keith Josephs, MD, MST, MS / Rochester, MN Medical Student Essay Awards: • Extended Neuroscience Award Amanda Rowlands / Hershey, PA • G. Milton Shy Award in Clinical Neurology Deanna Cettomai / Baltimore, MD • Roland P. Mackay Award in Historical Aspects Lauren Bowen / Gainesville, FL • Saul R. Korey Award in Experimental Neurology Benjamin Kwan / Windsor, ON, Canada Movement Disorders Research Award Recipient: David Eidelberg, MD / Manhasset, NY Neuroscience Research Prize Jan Gong / Garden City, NY Anouva Kalra-Lall / Roslyn, NY Theresa Tharakan / Bronx, NY Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize Shelagh Coutts, MD / Calgary, AB, Canada Potamkin Prize for Research in Pick’s, Alzheimer’s, and Related Diseases Bruce L. Miller, MD / San Francisco, CA Lennart Mucke, MD / San Francisco, CA American Academy of Neurology President’s Award Isabelle Rapin, MD, FAAN / Bronx, NY Preuss Award in Clinical Neuro-oncology Antonio Omuro, MD / New York, NY Research Award in Geriatric Neurology Liana Apostolova, MD / Los Angeles, CA Sleep Science Award Arthur Walters, MD / Nashville, TN Jon Stolk Award in Movement Disorders for Young Investigators E. Ray Dorsey, MD / Rochester, NY Harold Wolff-John Graham: An Award for Headache/Facial Pain Research Ana Recober, MD / Iowa City, IA The 62nd Annual Meeting of the AAN takes place at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

The American Academy of Neurology, an association of more than 22,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals, is dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care. A neurologist is a doctor with specialized training in diagnosing, treating and managing disorders of the brain and nervous system such as Alzheimer’s disease, migraine, stroke, Parkinson’s disease, ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease) and multiple sclerosis. For more information about the American Academy of Neurology, visit


Press Release Search

For More Information

Email Renee Tessman


Email Michelle Uher