Let the AAN be your guide to navigating-and taking the necessary steps towards fulfilling-your Maintenance of Certification (MOC) and CME requirements.

Only an AAN membership offers access to the highest quality information, programs, and services designed to help you understand and stay on top of your important MOC and CME requirements.

Know the facts on AAN's role in MOC.

Update: ABPN Announces Changes to Its MOC Program
The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology has announced plans for changes to its MOC program. (September 6, 2017)


What Is Maintenance of Certification?

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is an initiative of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) to ensure that physician specialists offer quality patient care through an ongoing process of self-improvement and performance improvement.

MOC is not an American Academy of Neurology mandated initiative.

What Is the Purpose of MOC?

With so much attention on medical errors and liability issues, as well as spiraling health care costs, the public is demanding that their physicians demonstrate expertise and competence.

The ABMS established the MOC program as a professional response to the need for public accountability and transparency. The program is designed to document physician competence and improve medical care.

The MOC program is recognized as an important quality marker by insurers, hospitals, and credentialing organizations.

How Does MOC Affect Neurologists?

Maintenance of certification (MOC) will have some impact on all US and Canadian neurologists because of the ever-changing landscape of health care.

MOC will continue to have importance for neurologists throughout their career, but it will have more immediate impact on neurologists certified by the ABPN after October 1994, who are obligated every 10 years to meet or exceed the MOC requirements in order to maintain their ABPN-certified neurologist status.

Each 10-year MOC cycle culminates with the MOC cognitive examination. All certificates issued by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) after October 1, 1994, are 10-year, time-limited certificates and expire on December 31, 10 years from the year of the examination. Diplomates who are not recertified before their certificates expire are no longer Board certified in that area.

What are the Components of MOC?

MOC is an ongoing process through which a diplomate's credentials, licensure, and professional standing are verified and his or her knowledge and practice performance are evaluated.

The ABPN MOC program is comprised of four components:

  • Professional Standing
  • Self-assessment and CME
  • Cognitive Expertise
  • Performance in Practice

Discover a host of unparalleled resources from the AAN designed to help you take the necessary steps towards completing the components of your ABPN-mandated Maintenance of Certification (MOC) requirements: Continuing Medical Education (CME), self-assessment, and performance improvement.

Related Content


Forgot password?

**Due to required system maintenance on, some functions may be unavailable Saturday from 1:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Saturday (12/9/2017). Thank you for your patience.**