Log In

Forgot Password?


Not a member? Continue as a nonmember.

Become a Member

By becoming a member of the AAN, you can receive exclusive information to help you at every stage of your career. Benefits include:

Join Now See All Benefits

Loading... please wait

Awards and Scholarships

Apply for prestigious AAN awards, which recognize outstanding contributions to the field of neurology. Filter and sort by applicant type, career stage, practice setting, location, and which awards are currently accepting applications to find the award for you. Select the award title to learn more and to apply.

Not sure which award is for you? See previous AAN award winners and learn more about their backgrounds and why they were chosen.

  • Neuroscience Course Director Excellence Award

    This award recognizes a qualified Neuroscience course director or a pair of co-directors who have developed a robust educational program for pre-clerkship medical students.

  • Residency-Fellowship Program Director Recognition Award

    This award is intended to acknowledge excellence and recognize individuals whose leadership, creativity, and innovation are crucial in ensuring the future of neurology.

  • A. B. Baker Award for Lifetime Achievement in Neurologic Education

    This highly prestigious award recognizes significant career-long achievements in neurologic education, with an emphasis on national accomplishments.

  • Frank A. Rubino Award for Excellence in Clinical Neurology Teaching

    This prestigious award recognizes exceptional clinical neurology educators, who are the lifeblood of neurology and is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves by devoting their practice to clinical neurology, seeing patients, and teaching clinical neurology.

  • Norman Geschwind Prize in Behavioral Neurology

    This prize is awarded to an individual for outstanding research in the field of behavioral neurology. Applicants should have a strong desire to expand the field of behavioral neurology through research.

  • Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD, Patient Advocate of the Year Award

    This award recognizes an outstanding patient advocate who embodies the leadership and advocacy qualities exemplified by Kenneth M. Viste, Jr., MD.

  • Dreifuss-Penry Epilepsy Award

    The intent of this award is to recognize physicians in the early stages of their careers who have made an independent contribution to epilepsy research.

  • Neurologist-in-training Clinical Ethics Elective (NITCEE)

    This elective will provide opportunities to develop the skills necessary to approach ethical problems during your education, research activities, and clinical practice, and prepare you to share what you have learned with your peers and patients.

  • Jon Stolk Award in Movement Disorders for Early Career Investigators

    This award recognizes early career investigators who have made significant contributions to movement disorders research. The award is named for Dr. Jon Stolk, a driving force in the drug development field for Parkinson's disease.

  • Mridha Spirit of Neurology Award

    The Mridha Spirit of Neurology Award is a humanitarian award for a neurologist or neuroscientist working in an impoverished community of the world.

  • Neurology Practice Award

    This award recognizes a private neurology practice for excellence in quality care and service to the community.

  • Neuro-oncology Scientific Award

    This award recognizes an individual from any discipline and of any academic rank for a singular scientific achievement that has advanced the field of neuro-oncology.

  • Wayne A. Hening Sleep Medicine Investigator Award

    This award recognizes scientific contributions in sleep from promising early career investigators. The goal of this award is to reward productive early-career investigators and to emphasize the essential role of neurology in sleep medicine.

  • Clerkship Director Teaching Award

    This award recognizes clerkship directors who have dedicated themselves to neurology education, not only creating future generations of neurologists but also teaching neurology to students choosing other disciplines.

  • International Scholarship to the Annual Meeting

    The International Scholarship is an award given to early career neurologists and neurology trainees outside the US. Awardees will be selected based on their achievements and commitment to improving neurologic care and/or advancing neurologic research in their home countries.

  • Volunteer Service Award

    This award recognizes a private practice neurologist for their volunteer service to patients, organizations, and/or the community.

  • Sheila Essey Award: An Award for ALS Research

    This award recognizes an individual who has made significant contributions in research in the search for the cause, treatment, prevention, and cure for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

  • Resident Research Scholarship

    Designed for neurology residents who are interested in a career as clinician-scientists. This award is intended to be a springboard into the AAN's Research Program or other programs focused on early-career investigators.

  • Association of Indian Neurologists in America (AINA) Lifetime Achievement Award

    The AINA Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a leader in neurology by their peers. The recipient will be a North American neurologist chosen based on their dedication to advancing the training of North American neurologists of Indian origin and promoting innovation and research in the field.

  • Michael S. Pessin Stroke Leadership Prize

    This prize is awarded to emerging neurologists who have a strong interest in, and have demonstrated a passion for, learning and expanding the field of stroke research.